One comment on “1960’s and 1970’s Culture Archives . . . . . . . . . . . . The Truth about Long Hair: Natural Spiritual Power Album Track Gem: CSNY – “Almost Cut My Hair”

  1. Another great post my friend, thank you!

    In 1965, when I was 15, I went Christmas shopping in NYC with my parents. At that time, the “Beatle haircut” was still popular and to many it was considered long hair. While we walked on the outskirts of Greenwich Village, I noticed a guy carrying a guitar and his hair was very long, much longer than I had seen before. The shoulder length of his hair, the clothes he wore and the confidence in his stride indicated to me that something else was going on, something deeper than the American Bandstand, AM radio, mop top, mod fashions that were currently popular. I somehow knew that he represented a connection between what I had been exposed to and something deeper; it seemed to be more of an extension of the culture than just a connection. I came to understand that, behind the pop culture was a burgeoning counterculture.

    At that time, my understanding of the nascent counterculture was intellectual but the more I knew about it, the more I wanted to be a part of it. I felt drawn to it as if it was who I really was. I began to hang out with people older than me, people who were already committed to this new lifestyle and through them I realized that long hair was not at all a fashion statement.

    Eventually, my understanding progressed from intellectual to an experiential one. Many insights unfolded with my first LSD experience; one of them is that when looking at myself and others it was obvious that long hair is a natural part of a progression in consciousness. I wasn’t the only one who saw this, the experienced became legion, ended a war, attacked civil injustices, took care of the planet, flung open the doors of perception and created some of the best music ever heard.

    We recognized each other by the length of our hair, it set us apart from the mainstream and this bonded us as if we were all born of the same parents. Our tribe grew because we understood a truth that had been lost for far too long, that everything, everything, emanates from Love.

    Having long hair was a commitment to our true selves and to each other but the commitment wasn’t always easy to live with. With long hair, we could not expect to get a conventional job. We were profiled by the authorities, imprisoned, mocked, cursed upon, violated and threatened by politicians, police, hardhats and rednecks. In the eyes of Amerika we were branded as outlaws and we proudly lived as such.

    …we are forces of chaos and anarchy
    Everything they say we are we are
    And we are very
    Proud of ourselves
    Up against the wall mother fucker!…
    We Can Be Together – Jefferson Airplane

    We supported each other and persevered, we sustained and expanded our collective consciousness every time we got high and we reaffirmed our love for each other, brother and sister, by proudly waving our freak flag. Peace!

    Me at 19/20:
    [img]http://i.imgur.com/hsmwzYI.jpg[/img]

Leave a Reply

