2 comments on “1960′s & 1970′s Album Track Gems . . . . . . . . . . . . . BLODWYN PIG . . . DEAR JILL . . . August 1969

  1. I remember when the FM stations were running pre-release clips for this album, Dear Jill sounded so compelling. The song has been remained a favorite of mine ever since. I haven’t heard the full album for a while but there a spoken word cut that starts out slow and understandable and as it continues the accent becomes thicker and thicker until its no longer understandable! It made me laugh the first time that I heard it because I couldn’t follow what he was saying.

  2. Yeah, I don’t know what it is but when Alvin Lee sings he’s so intelligible and sometimes sounds close to Elvis, but I heard him in an interview once on TV and his accent was so, well, I could not understand a word he said – and he was speaking English! Then he picked up an acoustic guitar and started playing and singing and his words were completely clear! What’s up with that? Do we sound unintelligible to the English? But clear when we sing? Weird.

Leave a Reply

