23 comments on “1970′s Historic & Classic Rock Albums . . . . . . . . . . the WORST of JEFFERSON AIRPLANE . . . November 1970

  1. Nothing more could be added; you hit the nail squarely on the head with this one! Thank you for these invaluable history lessons and for keeping things clear.

    • Thanks Man!
      To quote a past comment of yours, “Webster hasn’t created the words to explain how that music touched us.” This is true and I know why, and so do you.

      • An interesting recollection: The Jefferson Airplane were playing at the Fillmore East in ’69 and as a promotion they had a nearly full scale wood/cardboard/paper machete biplane parked in front of the Fillmore Theater. A couple of Madison NJ Hippies who had a rented house in that town were at the concert. They asked Bill Graham what was to become of the prop and were told that it was to be disposed of or destroyed after the concert. The “Hippie House” guys found a way to bring it from NYC to Madison, NJ and parked it on the front lawn of their house. I don’t think it lasted more than a few days before the police made them get rid of it but it was fun while it was there!

        • Hi, I lived in the house at the time (1968)… my house name was “Nuki”. Did we know each other?

          • Tom – its a small world and that’s so cool that you lived there. Unfortunately, I was still in HS (Madison High) at that time and only went to that house a couple of times before the bust occurred. But I became friends with Bob Corboin and for a time I lived in a house in Morristown with him and a few other people. Who else did you know from that time and place? – Gene

            • I’m astounded to find you!!! Whoever you are. I was also “attending” Madison high school during the hippie house days. My older sister and her friends were there all the time and became very close to Bob and the others who lived there. We were driven there every day after school on the psychedelic bus. I know what many in my cohort are doing today, but I’d love to know about the others. As I recall, someone (and I think I know who) set fire to the airplane and the police used this as a pretext for raiding the house and evicting everyone. Rumor was the arsonist was persuaded to take action by the police. Is any of this accurate or is it just an especially vivid flashback.

  2. Pingback: Top 79 Historic & Classic 1970s Rock Albums | 00individual

  3. Good for them – fun times!
    As a Culture we had no real “material” value on such items back then. Which is why I’m thrilled and surprised to have hung on to the memorabilia that I still have from those days.
    However, when I think of how easy it would have been to have saved even just the ticket stubs from all those concerts I attended makes me cringe with sadness – was it that difficult to slip ’em in an envelope? Guess so, as we were truly living lean and for the moment, never knowing what tomorrow would bring and the future was so very far away!

    • I guess we didn’t consider that it was ever going to end. I too think about the stuff I could have saved but what I really wish was that Bill Graham had the foresight to film all of the concerts at the Fillmore’s East and West. Along with occasionally panning the audience, those performances would be invaluable today. Sigh!

  4. That’s right, just pour salt on my “dreams I’ll never see” wound.
    That’s a world-class groovy museum-quality pad, Man!
    I’m a rarely jealous guy, but …
    Does your Audi get to share the space?
    (I cut the IMG off both ends; so your images are clickable now for all to see!)

  5. Thanks! Unfortunatly, the Audi doesn’t fit into the garage (there’s a air hockey table in there too). It took YEARS for me to re-collect all of the albums and posters.

  6. The pic of the album wall is a little dated; there are about 60 framed albums up there now. My intent was to hang the albums that were in just about everybody’s record collection back in the day. Some really great artwork back then!

  7. Pingback: 1960′s and 1970′s Culture Archives . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . SANTA MONICA CIVIC AUDITORIUM, CA . . . . . . . HISTORIC ROCK CONCERT VENUE CLOSES! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . “THE END OF AN ERA” . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  8. Pingback: 1970′s Historic & Classic Rock Albums . . . . . . . . . . . . #1 BEST YEAR for ROCK ALBUM RELEASES – 1970! | 00individual

  9. Pingback: Top 33 1/3 Historic and Classic Rock Albums . . . . . . 1965 – 1975 | 00individual

  10. Pingback: Top 33 1/3 Historic and Classic Rock Albums . . . . . . 1965 – 1975 | 00individual

  11. Pingback: 1960s Historic & Classic Rock Albums . . . . . . . . . . . Top 23 Historic & Classic Rock Albums ’64 – ’75 | 00individual

  12. Pingback: TRUE PSYCHEDELIC TRIPS! . . . . . . . . . . . . . MIND-BLOWER #23 . . . Spring/Summer 1970 . . . . . PRIMO ABDHOULI #1 HASHISH! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1960’s and 1970’s Culture Archives . . . . . . . . . . . . “Life Crossroads: a Once in

  13. Pingback: TRUE PSYCHEDELIC TRIPS! . . . . . . . . . . . . . MIND-BLOWER #23 . . . Spring/Summer 1970 . . . . . PRIMO ABDHOULI #1 HASHISH! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1960’s and 1970’s Culture Archives . . . . . . . . . . . . “Life Crossroads: a Once in

Leave a Reply

